• Details

    Violetta gives up every hope of happiness in this heart-wrenching love story. With its world-famous arias, La traviata is the perfect opera to introduce friends and family to Glyndebourne.

    Best availability in August.

    La traviata will receive two runs this Festival featuring different singers in the main roles, and different conductors.


    A story of sacrifice, love and surrender

    Alfredo, a young man from the provinces, falls in love with Violetta, the stylish toast of Paris. But she’s not the marrying kind – at least not until now.

    However, their dreams of domestic bliss are threatened by both a merciless society that condemns Violetta’s racy past and an equally merciless disease.


    Verdi’s most beloved opera

    The age-old ‘tart with a heart’ is a familiar dramatic trope. In versions ranging from an ancient Sanskrit drama through to Greta Garbo’s Camille to the film Moulin Rouge, it has always been a gauge of a society’s ideas about morality.

    Verdi’s version is based on the true story of Marie Duplessis, a Parisian courtesan immortalised by her lover, the author Alexandre Dumas fils. Verdi was powerfully drawn to her story during a time in his career when he focused increasingly on vivid and complex outsiders who push the boundaries of society.

    There’s rarely a dry eye in the house when this poignant tale unfolds through Verdi’s robust, tuneful, full-hearted and full-throated score, laced throughout with melodies as familiar as the story.

    The visual beauty of Tom Cairns’s opulent production aptly echoes the irresistible allure of this beloved opera.

    Sung in Italian with English supertitles.

    You can see La traviata (captured live in 2014) in cinemas from Thursday 8 June.


    Enhance your experience

    Insider talk
    The allure of La traviata – Monday 7 August

    Pre-performance talk
    Join us for a bite-sized overview of the opera on Sunday 28 May


    La traviata is generously supported by a Syndicate of Individuals

  • Cast and creative team

    Creative team

    Conductor Richard Farnes (May-June) / Andrés Orozco-Estrada (August)
    Director Tom Cairns
    Designer Hildegard Bechtler
    Choreographer Aletta Collins
    Lighting Designer Peter Mumford
    Video & Projection Designer Nina Dunn


    Cast includes

    Violetta Valéry Kristina Mkhitaryan (May-June) / Joyce El-Khoury (August)
    Alfredo Germont Zach Borichevsky (May-June) / Atalla Ayan (August)
    Giorgio Germont Igor Golovatenko (May-June) / Dimitri Platanias (August)
    Flora Bervoix Rihab Chaieb
    Baron Douphol William Dazeley
    Dr Grenvil Henry Waddington
    Marchese D’Obigny Daniel Shelvey
    Gastone Gabriele Mangione

    London Philharmonic Orchestra
    The Glyndebourne Chorus

  • Dates and times

    Run One

    May

    Date Start Long interval Finish Price band
    Sun 21 May 4.30pm 5.55pm 8.25pm 1
    Thu 25 May 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Sun 28 May 4.30pm 5.55pm 8.25pm 1
    Wed 31 May 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1

    June

    Date Start Long interval Finish Price band
    Sat 3 June 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Wed 7 June 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Sat 10 June 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Mon 12 June 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Fri 16 June 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Mon 19 June 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2

    Run Two

    August

    Date Start Long interval Finish Price band
    Tue 1 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Fri 4 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Mon 7 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Thu 10 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Sat 12 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Tue 15 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Fri 18 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 1
    Tue 22 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Fri 25 August 4.45pm 6.10pm 8.40pm 2
    Sun 27 August 4.30pm 5.55pm 8.25pm 2